## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION MONDAY, MARCH 31, 2025

Ms. Tadesse called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m. in the Executive Director's Conference Room, Fourth Floor of the Department of Administration Building. Laura Jeanne Verdecchia, Legal Assistant to the Commission, kept the Minutes. Ms. Verdecchia called the roll. The following Commissioners were present: Ms. Tadesse, Mr. Capizzo, Mr. Casale, Ms. Glynn (remotely), Mr. Lepore, Mr. Moore, Ms. Petrarca, Mr. Preciphs, and Dr. Onye. Ms. Tadesse declared that a quorum was present.

Ms. Tadesse noted that the Notice of the Meeting had been properly posted on March 3, 2025, in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. A copy of that Notice is annexed to these Minutes.

Ms. Tadesse welcomed new Commissioner Lamel Moore.

On a motion by Ms. Petrarca and seconded by Mr. Casale, it was unanimously voted to approve the Minutes of the October 16, 2023, meeting of the Judicial Nominating Commission, a draft of which Minutes were posted on October 17, 2023.

On a motion by Dr. Onye, seconded by Ms. Petrarca, it was unanimously voted to go into Executive Session pursuant to *Rhode Island General Laws* §42-46-5(a)(1) (discussion of the job performance, character of physical or mental health of the person), each applicant having been notified in writing of his or her right to request to be considered in open session.

On motion by Mr. Casale, seconded by Ms. Petrarca, the Minutes of the Executive Session were sealed by unanimous vote. On motion by Dr. Onye, seconded by Mr. Capizzo, it was unanimously agreed to return to open session. Ms. Tadesse then reported that during the Executive Session it was unanimously voted to grant interviews to the following individuals:

District Court Vacancy Created by the Resignation of Associate Judge Melissa R. DuBose:

Rebecca Aitchison
Maria Deaton
Anthony DiBiase
Amy Dodge Murray
Magistrate Alan Goulart
Robert E. Johnson IV
Eva-Marie Mancuso
Michael J. McCaffrey
Ania Zielinski

Family Court Vacancy Created by the Resignation of Associate Justice Patricia K. Asquith:

Crystal Abreu

Magistrate Alberto Aponte Cardona, Sr.

Magistrate Denise Finkelman

Lori Giarrusso

Magistrate Andrea Iannazzi

Erica S. Janton

LaTri-c-ea McClendon-Hunt

Susan T. Perkins

Therese Picard

There being no further business, on a motion by Dr. Onye, seconded by Ms. Petrarca, it was unanimously voted to adjourn at 6:19 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Laura Jeanne Verdecchia, Legal Assistant

## RHODE ISLAND JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION PUBLIC NOTICE OF MEETING

Monday, March 31, 2025 @ 5:30 p.m.

LOCATION: Department of Administration Executive Director's Conference Room, Fourth Floor One Capitol Hill Providence, Rhode Island 02908

## **PURPOSES:**

- A. To approve the Minutes of the Judicial Nominating Commission Meeting held on October 16, 2023.
- B. To consider and take appropriate action to designate individuals to be interviewed for the following vacancies\*:
  - 1. Associate Judge Rhode Island District Court (created by the resignation of Associate Judge Melissa R. DuBose); and
  - 2. Associate Justice Rhode Island Family Court (created by the resignation of Associate Justice Patricia K. Asquith.
- C. To agree on dates for public comment and candidate interviews.
- \* Commission members may elect to go into executive session pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 42-46-5(a)(1) (discussions of job performance, character, or physical or mental health of a person or persons who have been notified in writing and advised that they may require that the discussion be held at open meeting).

Posted on March 3, 2025, at the Office of the Department of Administration, the State House Library and electronically with the Secretary of State, as well as on the Judicial Nominating Commission's website. Anyone wishing to attend this meeting who may have special needs for access or services such as an interpreter, please contact Laura Jeanne Verdecchia at (401) 455-7611 at least twenty-four hours in advance of the scheduled meeting.

Krystle Tadesse Chairperson