Dominick J. Ruggerio

President of the Senate

  • Date of Birth: 12/19/1948
  • Children: Charles; Amanda
Contact Information
General Background
  • High School: La Salle Academy, 1966
  • College: Bryant College; Providence College, BS, 1974
  • Business and Personal Affiliations: Board of Directors, Wanskuck Library; Sons of Italy, Loggio Vittoria
Major Responsibilities
  • Serves as an Ex-Officio member of all Senate committees. Presides over all sessions of the Senate and Grand Committee, appoints members to all Senate committees and the Senate members of all joint committees, and may create other committees and subcommittees as may be required and appoint members to them in accordance with the law. Appoints the chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary of all Senate committees, majority whip, deputy majority whip, and deputy majority leaders.
Public Service Information
  • Public Offices and Appointments: State Representative (1981-1984); Senate Deputy President Pro Tempore (1988-1990); Senate Majority Whip (2003-2010); Senate Majority Leader (2011-2017); President of the Senate (2017-Present) Elected Senator November 6, 1984
  • Prior Government Offices: Policy Aide, Office of the Lieutenant Governor (1977-1981)
  • The Senate President is elected by the membership. The Senate President is the presiding officer of the sessions of the Senate and preserves order and decorum in and about the Senate chamber during the session.
Key Staff
Chief of Staff, Jacob Bissaillon (401)222-6655 [email protected]
Executive Assistant, Leslie Smith (401)222-6655 [email protected]
Chief Legal Counsel, Steven Hayes (401)276-5511 [email protected]
Director of Communications, Greg Pare (401)276-5558 [email protected]
Director of Constituent Services, John S.Baxter (401)276-5588 [email protected]
Fiscal Advisor, Stephen Whitney (401)222-2480 [email protected]
Director of Policy, Joseph Masino (401)276-5554 [email protected]
Deputy Chief of Staff, Michael DeAngelis (401)222-6655 [email protected]
Director of Legislation and Deputy Chief of Staff, Kristen Silvia (401)276-5562 [email protected]
Secretary of Senate and Deputy Chief of Staff, John Fleming (401)222-1849 [email protected]

Return to top